FoKUS

DaRUS - the Data Repository of the University of Stuttgart

DaRUS is the place to archive, share and publish the research data, scripts and codes of the members and partners of the University of Stuttgart.

DaRUS is based on the OpenSource Software DataVerse and offers university groups (institutes, working groups, SFBs, projects) the possibility to maintain their own data universes with their own search criteria and description options. The data sets are described in such a way that they are easy to find and share. An API offers the possibility to automate the upload and the access to the data. The data sets do not have to be published, but can be easily quoted and made available to the public with a DOI. In this way, not only can the requirements of funding organizations or journals be met, but important research results within a research group can also be made visible and usable in the long term. In addition to the production system, DemoDaRUS offers a test environment in which the functionalities of DaRUS can be experimented with. 

News

Currently DaRUS is in productive pilot operation. If you would like to use DaRUS for your working group or project, please contact the FoKUS-Team.

Frequenty Asked Questions

The web interface of DaRUS can be found at https://darus.uni-stuttgart.de . As a non-registered user you will see all published datasets and data areas (Dataverses). 

The DemoDaRUS test system can be found at https://demodarus.izus.uni-stuttgart.de/. The test system can only be accessed within the University of Stuttgart. 

Please contact us (see contact box below). If a dataverse already exists for your institute, we can tell you the local administrator. In the other case, we will create a data area (Dataverse) for your institute after a consultative meeting, which you can then manage yourself. For this, there has to be a local admin with the role "DaRUS-Administrator" in the Uni-Admin-Portal. Contents of the consultation are: Functions and configuration possibilities of DaRUS, rights and duties as DaRUS admin, application goals, data types, formats and volumes, description categories, automation.

Login is done on the DaRUS homepage via Shibboleth. Click on LogIn in the top right corner and select "Universität Stuttgart" as Institution. You will then be redirected to a login page where you can login with your AC account. In addition to the published datasets and dataverses, you now also see all data and dataverses to which you have rights.

In the DaRUS Knowledge Base on DaRUS you can find instructions for the first steps on DaRUS.

If you want to upload large amounts of data to DaRUS on a regular basis, please contact your local administrator or, as an administrator, the DaRUS team. We can then activate direct upload to the data backend for your dataverse.

More information about the different ways to upload files can be found under BigData

In your dataverse, you can decide for yourself which users have which rights to the data records.. You can create user groups and assign roles to individual users or user groups. In order to assign rights to a user or to add a user to a group, this user must first log in to DaRUS via Shibboleth.

In addition, you can configure which search and description categories (metadata) should be available for your research data and which must be filled in optionally or mandatory. You can also create templates that prefill frequently used metadata.

Each dataverse has its own rights management. Rights are not inherited from a higher-level dataverse to lower-level dataverse. You need admin rights for a dataverse to be able to grant rights to other users or user groups. Rights can be assigned at the level of dataverses or records.

First, you need a dataverse for your project. If your institute already has a dataverse, the local admin (with the role DaRUS-Administrator in the Uni-Admin-Portal) can create a dataverse for you and give you admin rights for this dataverse.

Afterwards all project partners have to register once with DaRUS via Shibboleth so that they appear as users in the system. Then you can give the partners the desired rights to the project data averse.

In order for external partners to be able to authenticate themselves with DaRUS, the respective institution must be a member of the EduGAIN network and has to submit DaRUS four different attributes (eppn, givenName, sn, mail) to allow the creation of new user account. If there are any problems, please contact the FoKUS team.

Each data set is assigned a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) as ID during creation. You must publish the data record so that it can be permanently accessed by the public under this DOI. The data record goes through a publication workflow in which it is first checked from a scientific point of view and then from a formal point of view. After release, the DOI is registered and the data record is released to the public.

Allow at least one week for the publishing process. After the internal content control it usually takes about 3 working days until you get feedback from the DaRUS team. Until the actual release and publication of the data set, a revision may be necessary.

DaRUS offers different degrees of publicity:

  • Published with DOI without restriction: Both the description (metadata) and the data itself are fully accessible to the public. Access to the data set is counted, but no information about the users is collected. (Application example: OpenData)
  • Published with DOI with guestbook: The metadata is fully accessible, but users must complete a questionnaire before downloading the actual files. The data is made accessible independently of the answers to the questionnaire (application example: need for information about subsequent users of data).
  • Published with DOI with file protection: The metadata is fully accessible, the files can only be requested and must be explicitly released by an administrator. (Application example: Restriction to scientific use of data relevant to data protection)
  • Unpublished with private URL: A so-called private URL can be created for an unpublished record. Anyone in possession of this URL can access the record. (Application example: Access to data for reviewers) 
  • Unpublished: Unpublished datasets can only be accessed by users who have been explicitly granted rights to the Dataverse they contain. (Application example: sharing data in the project context)

Contact your local administrator and refer them to these FAQs.

When assigning rights to a dataverse, they are synchronized with the index with a time delay. To trigger the synchronization manually, change the metadata configuration of the data verses in question.

DaRUS is based on the open source software Dataverse, whose functionalities are described in the User-Guide and  whose REST interfaces are described in the API-Guide. A set of slides published in the DaRUS knowledge base describes the first steps with DaRUS as user and also as administrator.

Kontakt

To the top of the page

FoKUS

DaRUS - das Datenrepositorium der Universität Stuttgart

DaRUS ist der Ort zum Archivieren, Teilen und Veröffentlichen der Forschungsdaten, Skripte und Codes der Angehörigen der Universität Stuttgart.

DaRUS beruht auf der OpenSource Software DataVerse und bietet Gruppen der Universität (Instituten, Arbeitsgruppen, SFBs, Projekten) die Möglichkeit, eigene Daten-Universen mit eigenen Suchkriterien und Beschreibungsmöglichkeiten zu pflegen. Die Datensätze werden so beschrieben, dass sie leicht auffindbar und unkompliziert zu teilen sind. Eine API bietet die Möglichkeit, den Upload und den Zugriff auf die Daten zu automatisieren. Die Datensätze müssen nicht veröffentlicht werden, können aber leicht zitierbar und mit DOI versehen der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Damit können nicht nur die Anforderungen von Fördermittelgebern oder Zeitschriften erfüllt werden, sondern gleichzeitig wichtige Forschungsergebnisse innerhalb einer Forschungsgruppe sichtbar und langfristig nutzbar gemacht werden. Neben dem Produktivsystem bietet DemoDaRUS eine Testumgebung, in der die Funktionalitäten von DaRUS ausprobiert werden können. 

Aktuelles

Aktuell befindet sich DaRUS im produktiven Pilotbetrieb. Wenn Sie DaRUS für Ihre Arbeitsgruppe oder ihr Projekt nutzen wollen, wenden Sie sich an das FoKUS-Team.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Die Weboberfläche von DaRUS ist unter https://darus.uni-stuttgart.de zu finden. Als nicht angemeldeter Benutzer sehen Sie dort alle veröffentlichten Datensätze und Databereiche (Dataverses). 

Das Testsystem DemoDaRUS finden Sie unter https://demodarus.izus.uni-stuttgart.de/. Das Testsystem ist nur innerhalb der Universität Stuttgart erreichbar. 

Wenden Sie sich an uns (siehe Kontaktbox unten). Falls für Ihr Institut bereits ein Dataverse existiert, können wir Ihnen den lokalen Administrator dafür nennen. Im andern Fall legen wir nach einem Beratungsgespräch ihrem Institut einen Datenbereich (Dataverse) an, das sie dann selber verwalten können. Dafür muss der lokale Admin die Rolle "DaRUS-Administrator" im Uni-Admin-Portal haben. Inhalte des Beratungsgesprächs sind: Funktionen und Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten von DaRUS, Rechte und Pflichten als DaRUS-Admin, Anwendungsziele, Datentypen, -formate und -volumina, Beschreibungskategorien, Automatisierung.

Die Anmeldung geschieht auf der Startseite von DaRUS über Shibboleth. Klicken Sie rechts oben auf LogIn und wählen Sie bei Institution "Universität Stuttgart" aus. Anschließend werden Sie auf eine Anmeldeseite weitergeleitet, auf der Sie sich mit Ihrem AC-Account anmelden können. Sie sehen nun - zusätzlich zu den veröffentlichten Datensätzen und Dataverses - auch alle privaten Datensätze und Dataverses auf die Sie Rechte haben.

In der DaRUS Knowledge Base auf DaRUS finden Sie Anleitungen für die ersten Schritte auf DaRUS.

In Ihrem Dataverse können Sie selber entscheiden, welche Nutzer welche Rechte an den Datensätzen haben. Dazu können Sie Benutzergruppen anlegen und einzelnen Benutzern oder Benutzergruppen Rollen zuweisen. Um einem Benutzer Rechte geben zu können oder einen Benutzer einer Gruppe hinzuzufügen, muss sich dieser Benutzer zunächst einmal per Shibboleth bei DaRUS anmelden.

Zudem können Sie konfigurieren, welche Such- und Beschreibungskategorien (Metadaten) für ihre Forschungsdaten verfügbar sein sollen und welche davon optional oder verpflichtend ausgefüllt werden müssen.  Sie können auch Templates anlegen, die häufig genutzte Metadaten vorausfüllen, und das Dataverse mit Logo und Informationen ihres Instituts oder Projektes branden.

Jedes Dataverse hat seine eigene Rechteverwaltung. Rechte werden nicht von einem übergeordneten Dataverse an darunter liegendes Dataverse vererbt. Sie brauchen Admin-Rechte an einem Dataverse, um anderen Benutzern oder Nutzergruppen Rechte geben zu können. Rechte können auf der Ebene von Dataverses oder Datensätzen vergeben werden.

Zunächst brauchen Sie ein Dataverse für ihr Projekt. Falls ihr Institut bereits über ein Dataverse verfügt, kann der lokale Admin (mit der Rolle DaRUS-Administrator im Uni-Admin-Portal) ein Dataverse für Sie anlegen und Ihnen Admin-Rechte auf dieses Dataverse geben.

Anschließend müssen sich alle Projektpartner einmal per Shibboleth bei DaRUS anmelden, damit sie als Benutzer im System auftauchen. Dann können Sie den Partnern die gewünschten Rechte am Projektdataverse geben.

Damit sich externe Partner bei DaRUS authentifizieren können, muss die jeweilige Institution im EduGAIN-Verbund Mitglied sein und dem Dienst DaRUS vertrauen. Sollte es dabei Probleme geben, melden Sie sich beim FoKUS-Team.

Jeder Datensatz bekommt schon bei der Erstellung eine DOI (Digital Object Identifier) als ID zugewiesen. Damit der Datensatz tatsächlich unter dieser DOI permanent für die Öffentlichkeit erreichbar ist, müssen Sie den Datensatz veröffentlichen. Dabei durchläuft der Datensatz einen Publikationsworkflow, in dem der Datensatz zunächst in fachlicher Sicht und anschließend in formaler Sicht geprüft wird. Nach der Freigabe wird die DOI registriert und der Datensatz der Öffentlichkeit freigegeben.

DaRUS bietet verschiedene Grade von Öffentlichkeit:

  • Veröffentlicht mit DOI ohne Einschränkung: Sowohl die Beschreibung (Metadaten) wie auch die Daten selber sind uneingeschränkt für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Die Zugriffe auf den Datensatz werden gezählt, aber keine Informationen über die Nutzer gesammelt. (Anwendungsbeispiel: OpenData)
  • Veröffentlicht mit DOI mit Gästebuch: Die Metadaten sind uneingeschränkt zugänglich, vor dem Herunterladen der eigentlichen Dateien müssen Nutzer einen Fragebogen ausfüllen. Die Daten werden unabhängig von den Antworten auf den Fragebogen zugänglich gemacht (Anwendungsbeispiel: Informationsbedürfnis über Nachnutzer von Daten)
  • Veröffentlicht mit DOI mit Datei-Schutz: Die Metadaten sind uneingeschränkt zugänglich, die Dateien können nur angefordert werden und müssen explizit durch einen Administrator freigegeben werden. (Anwendungsbeispiel: Einschränkung auf wissenschaftliche Nutzung von datenschutzrelevanten Daten)
  • Unveröffentlicht mit privater URL: Für einen unveröffentlichten Datensatz kann eine sog. private URL erzeugt werden. Jeder im Besitz dieser URL kann auf den Datensatz zugreifen. (Anwendungsbeispiel: Zugriff auf Daten für Gutachter) 
  • Unveröffentlicht: Auf unveröffentlichte Datensätze haben nur die Nutzer Zugriff, denen explizit Rechte an dem enthaltenden Dataverse eingeräumt wurden. (Anwendungsbeispiel: Teilen von Daten im Projektkontext)

Wenden Sie sich an ihren lokalen Administrator und verweisen ihn auf diese FAQs. 

Beim Zuweisen von Rechten an einem Dataverse werden diese zeitversetzt mit dem Index synchronisiert. Um die Synchronisation manuell anzustoßen, verändern Sie die Metadatenkonfiguration des betreffenden Dataverse.

DaRUS basiert auf der Open-Source-Software Dataverse, deren Funktionalitäten im User-Guide und deren REST-Schnittstellen im API-Guide beschrieben werden.

Zum Seitenanfang